2016 Scholarship Recipients

COMTO Colorado will award up to 10 scholarships for the 2017-2018 academic year to students who express an interest in pursuing college studies in a transportation-related field. The scholarship award may be used for tuition, books, and/or room and board expenses. 

Eligible Students

High School Students who plan to attend accredited college, university or trade school and major in the following or related disciplines:

  • Archaeology and/or Cultural Resources
  • Architecture
  • Aviation
  • Civil, Chemical, Structural, Mechanical and/or Electrical Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • Construction Engineering Technology
  • Construction and/or Construction Management
  • Environmental Science and related Studies
  • Geology and/or Geotechnical Engineering
  • Public Information and Outreach Programs
  • Security Systems
  • Urban Planning
  • Vehicle Design and Maintenance
  • Construction
  • Computer Aided Design (CAD)
  • Heating and Air Conditioning (HVAC)
  • Electrical
  • Electronics
  • Hydraulics and/or Elevator Mechanics
  • Diesel Mechanics

Eligible applicants must meet the following requirements:

  1. Be a graduating high school senior entering a regionally accredited college,
    university, or technical school, in the year the scholarship is applied for. Scholarships are awarded
    only to those who graduate from high school in the calendar year in which
    scholarships are presented.
  2. Be currently enrolled, in good standing and maintaining at least a 2.5 grade point
    average through the 2017-2018 academic year.
  3. Complete the full COMTO Colorado application process by the designated
  4. Enrolled in any state approved high school.

To be considered, fully completed application form and accompanying documentation must be mailed to COMTO Colorado by March 13, 2017. 

For additional questions, please contact Mary Davis at

Congratulations to the 2016 COMTO Scholarship Recipients!

Phil Washington Pinnacle Award for Distinguished Leadership Recipient

  • Quincy Moreno Casas – University of Colorado, Colorado Springs – Maj. Electrical Engineering

First Time Scholarship Recipients

  • Jada Cannon – Pratt Institute – Maj. Architecture.
  • Joshua Cook – Colorado State University – Maj. Biomedical or Chemical Engineering
  • Anthony Malone II – Doane College – Maj. Electrical or Mechanical Engineering
  • Danny Nguyen – University of Colorado, Boulder – Maj. Computer Science Engineering
  • Samuel Ortiz – Colorado School of Mines  – Maj. Chemical Engineering
  • Rahang Rai – Metropolitan State University of Denver – Maj. Computer Science

Repeat Recipients

  • Cassandra Diaz de Leon – 3rd Year Architecture Student, University of Colorado Denver
  • Jorge Rodriguez – 4th Year Civil Engineering Student, Colorado School of Mines